Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Hospital Tank Suggestions

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Jasob View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jasob Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hospital Tank Suggestions
    Posted: October 04 2005 at 12:34am

I'm considering setting up a hospital tank or maybe even using it as a quarantine tank for new fish if the "hospital" is not necessary.  I'm just curious what kind of setup I should do. 

I was thinking 10 gallons.  Should I use live sand? What kind of filter should I use?  And would a powerhead be necessary for such a small tank used for rehabiltating a sick fish? 

Also should I keep this tank stocked with a couple snails or any other type of cleanup crew, or should I even keep it running when I don't need it? As you may be able to tell I'm very new to the hobby.  Any help is greatly appreciated.  

Jason

Suzy View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Suzy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October 04 2005 at 7:03am
Jason, I set up up hospital tanks as neccessary. I'm not sure if you need to
have one set up continuously?

When I suspect a pathogen, I use a 10 gallon tank, no substrate (just a
few pieces of macro and a rock to hitch on!). I use 4 airlines to move the
water, no heater because low temps kept the pathogen from proliferating.
Usually the medicine loses it's efficiency after 24 hours so the water must
be changed anyway, so a filter is not neccessary. Usually the fish are not
eating if they are sick...

The meds will probably kill the clean up crew, plus there isn't much to
clean up!

I would set up a quarantine tank similarily.......Easier than trying to keep
a back up tank cycled...
Dion Richins View Drop Down
Presidency
Presidency