Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Review my LED Build? Please?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
ReefdUp View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ReefdUp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Review my LED Build? Please?
    Posted: September 20 2013 at 3:10pm
Hi all,

First up is the obligatory disclaimer that I have cross-posted this to make sure I'm not missing anything. I'd really appreciate any thoughts/concerns you have. It's my first build, so I want to make sure it's done right. Thanks in advance!!

Tank: 150g tall (48" long by 24" wide by 31" tall)
Inhabitants: Mostly SPS, some LPS
Previous lighting: 2x400W MH + 2x54W T-5
Controller: Neptune Apex

LEDs:

Total LED Max Wattage: 312W, dimmable

Cree XM-L2 Neutral White (5000K)
Cree XT-E Royal Blue (455nm)
Exotic Deep Red (660nm)
Exotic Turquoise (495nm)
Exotic Cool Blue (475nm)
Exotic Hyper Violet (430nm)

Layout:

LEDs & Forward Voltages:

Drivers:

Misc. Supplies:

I guess my last two big remaining questions are regarding driver/light combos.

The Cree XM-L2 operates at 3000mA, so the forward voltage is 3.3V. I assume I can run the XM-L2's on the Mean Well ELN-60-48 at 1300mA, with no problems, right?

Any recommendations on the Cree XT-E scenario above? The max voltage I'd have is 108.8V, but two Mean Well ELN-60-48 will only run 105.6V. I'd hate to run a third driver for that small of a difference.

Parts are coming from www.LEDgroupbuy.com and www.rapidled.com.

Thanks in advance!

Edited by ReefdUp - April 19 2014 at 4:14pm
www.reefdup.com
Diving since 2009, reefkeeping since 2007, & fishkeeping since 1987
200g, 75g, & 15g Systems
PADI Advanced Open Water
lskurys View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lskurys Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 20 2013 at 3:54pm
Looks pretty close to what I have set up right now.