Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Tank photos (long awaited!!!)

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Simba View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Simba Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Tank photos (long awaited!!!)
    Posted: April 13 2011 at 12:31am

Well here they are at last, photos of my tank (if it works I've never done photo uploads this way before) from when the rock was curing to now aqauscaped/rockscaped. Well even though the title at the bottom says, I have a 100 gallon wavefront tank with a 30 gallon sump. As you can see in the stand photos steve and I reinforced the stand with 6-2x4's to prevent sagging and possible collapsing from the extra weight of the saltwater, sand, rock etc... There is an external pump (I dont know the name or size, but it works great!). I have to give due credit to Steve because he did all the plumbing and set the sump up as I sat behing watching in amazement and scratching my head and wondering how he was able to do what he did! I did stack the rock myself and swore several times at it when it didnt quite stack or go the way I wanted, but I am really happy with the way it turned out. I have a mixture of sand types from very fine to semi-coarse, and that is a mixture of I think fiji pink and a couple others which makes a gorgeous coloration. The rock is a variety of different live rock with lots of vitarock. My new light bulbs when they arrive tomorrow will be a mixture of ATI- purple plus, aquablue, and blue plus. Next week we will test the water to see if it compatible to sustain coral life and if that guinea pig of a coral survives next comes fish!!!

There it is, more pictures and updates coming soon!!!
-Sabra
100G Wavefront/30G Sump
Boston Terrier-Luna Piggy
Simba View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Simba Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April 13 2011 at 12:33am