Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

my 2.5g journal, advice appreciated :)

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
sshm View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sshm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: my 2.5g journal, advice appreciated :)
    Posted: November 14 2005 at 1:53pm
Hi all,
I've been into FW planted tanks for a long time and now I decided to start my own 2.5g pico tank. I am a student at the U and live in student housing, so a pico keeps me within the rules and also since the initial investment isnt too great (I think cost/gallon is more but its a few years till I can own a 300g anyway :) ), a pico wouldnt hurt my already piddly student-type financial situation :).
 I hope to use this thread to document its progress and to learn from the gurus here. I would greatly appreciate all the help and guidance I receive along the way.

My initial plans for the pico was something like this:

However, I realized with such a large self-contained fuge area as indicated, I would be out of real estate. Moreover, the piece of acrylic I found was too small to make that anyway :D
So I cut down on the size of the fuge area and I couldnt fit the 10W screw in bulb without destroying my already crappy diy hood, so I just went with the 2 13W lamps. I put together a remote enclosed ballast box, so I could keep excess heat away from inside the hood, and since it is remote, I can keep it far away from the hood itself, moreover, a ballast box allowed me to run one grounding wire to the box.

SUMMARY OF THE TANK:

Yesterday, I bought a pound and a half of live sand, 4 pounds of live rock and some rubble and set my tank up. As of today, some of the tested parameters are:

1) Specific gravity : 1.022-1.023
2) pH: 8.13
3) Temperature: ART, ~79F

and here is a FTS: