Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Sick Montipora??

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Cowan View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cowan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Sick Montipora??
    Posted: June 16 2014 at 7:34pm

I am pretty new to the hobby, I got this Monti a few weeks ago and was out of town for a week. When I came home I noticed that this Montipora has a lot of white spots on it now, any ideas? It is placed about 3/4 up the tank, the blue and green monty's aren't showing the same signs
RSM 250
ctreeftank View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ctreeftank Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 16 2014 at 7:40pm
Have you put it in a revive bath
Cowan View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cowan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 16 2014 at 7:53pm
I dipped it in ReVive when I first bought it
Not since then though
RSM 250
ReefdUp View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ReefdUp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 16 2014 at 7:57pm
Are you sure it's a Montipora? The septa on the skeleton don't look quite right for a Monti...although I'm looking at the pic on my phone.

That sort of bleaching is usually from either low alkalinity or montipora eating nudibranchs. Bleaching from lighting is usually more uniform, and the tissue rarely receeds like that so quickly.

So...what are your parameters?
www.reefdup.com
Diving since 2009, reefkeeping since 2007, & fishkeeping since 1987
200g, 75g, & 15g Systems
PADI Advanced Open Water
ctreeftank View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ctreeftank Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 16 2014 at 7:57pm
Try it again
ReefdUp View Drop Down