Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Advise for a 20 gallon sump?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
craigory23 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote craigory23 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Advise for a 20 gallon sump?
    Posted: January 02 2014 at 11:38am
I'm hoping to build a 20 gal sump for my 30 gal tank to save $! I'm looking for any advise on must haves in the sump and theories on best set ups. I was leaning towards something like this:

Opinions on if I need a uv sterilizer? I'm new to all of this. What size of return pump do I need? If my tank isn't predrilled, what's the best way to pull the water down to the sump? What's a good size for my skimmer? I know nothing! Thanks for any help.
Akira View Drop Down
Paid Member
Paid Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Akira Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: January 05 2014 at 3:30am
Just my O2 , but i run a 3 chamber also . I run my overflow into a tie on filter sock and my skimmer in the same chamber.  My water is an over then under baffle your is opposite . Middle chamber is my retun to tank and pump for my recirc skimmer . I feed my fuge on the far right with my return pump. My return also feeds my carbon reactor. 

My drain  return is is a herbie and i use a gate valve to slow my flow as I use my return pump for other things also. This gives my sump a slower flow for longer contact time with my skimmer fuge etc. So my return is just a return and my main tank flow is by power heads , closed loop etc. 

Many different option and all have pros and cons , This is just what works for me. I see you dont have many posts here so if you want to talk send me a PM. Also there are a few in Logan  and Im sure they would let you come see what they do .
Mark Peterson View Drop Down
Paid Member
Paid Member