Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Foundation for outdoor aquarium

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Adam Haycock View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Adam Haycock Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Foundation for outdoor aquarium
    Posted: February 09 2005 at 6:00pm

I need to build a stand for a 180 gallon glass aquarium. It will be placed on soft soil so I need to make sure I have a good foundation. I have no experience in this area so im looking for some advice.

I have considered several options including cinder blocks and laying a cement slab. But now im cosidering using the method used for decks.

Here is what I would do...

So I would have four of these posts and build the stand on top of them.

Will this be enough support for all the weight? Any other ideas?

Edited by BananaTropics
Corey Price View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Corey Price Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: February 09 2005 at 6:44pm

Adam,

You could:

Using some 12" diameter "sonotube", dig four holes and place your new concrete "piers" down 30" below grade for frost depth.  You could cast Simpson column bases in the concrete for 4x4 treated supports (I'm sure Home Repo carries them) and reinforce the concrete piers with 4" square metal fence grid, lapped together a good half circle.  Using post concrete mix, you could have a very sturdy platform! 

Unless you're talking about mud that you sink a foot in when you try to walk in it, soils shouldn't be a problem for that much weight, as long as you have something solid under it.  Your vehicle more than likely would put more pressure on the soil than a 180 gallon tank would on four supports.  It's all about spreading the load out.

I'm still baffled as to why you want a tank outside (no offense!).

The approach you already have will probably work as well.