Utah Reefs Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Needlewheels are for sissies

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
fishoutawater View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote fishoutawater Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Needlewheels are for sissies
    Posted: September 01 2010 at 11:50pm
I got the itch to try something different for a skimmer. I worked on a few for members here, hope you are all still satisfied. And I made a couple for myself, but they were all needlewheel skimmers. At work a little while ago I started playing with a huge, dual beckett skimmer and decided to make a smaller version.

Becketts and downdrafts are awesome skimmers, the only problem is that they require large, powerful, pressure rated, expensive pumps that take up a lot of space and use a ton of electricity. This is still in the planning/r&d phase, but it looks really promising. I am using a mag7 pump to run it, 65w, not much bigger than your fist. I don't think a 65w pump on a skimmer is excessive. Tonight I put the airflow meter on it for the first time and was a little surprised.
The numbers are a little hard to read, most of the time it pulls between 40-45 scfh on the meter.
The body is just a 4 1/2" tube with no bottom, and a 3 1/2" neck. This thing easily pushes foam all the way out the top, so I am getting about a two foot head of foam. I wish I had an orp meter so I could see how much it affects that. Hopefully in the next couple weeks I will have it finished and have a better idea what it will do. I will leave the pump in the sump and plumb it externally, the Mrs. will love seeing another piece of fish equipment in the office.
Some day, when I grow up,...

Nick801 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Nick801 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 01 2010 at 11:57pm
mike your crazy =)
Kiltboy View Drop Down